STRW local: Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Diversity and Inclusion

At Leiden Observatory we push the boundaries of human knowledge. To maximise new ideas and insights, we need to attract, support, and retain people from every possible background.

We believe it is important that we are all given the same opportunities to succeed regardless of gender identity, sexuality, cultural background, socio-economic background, age, disability, career-level, or other minority status.

The aim of the Leiden Observatory Diversity and Inclusion Committee is to make Leiden Observatory a more inclusive, diverse, and welcoming workplace.

Our shared goals are to:

  1. Engage all staff in conversations and training about diversity and inclusion, and raise awareness around systemic biases and barriers that work against people in minorities.
  2. Implement best-practice hiring policies for Observatory positions at all levels.
  3. Promote a work culture of respect in which people feel valued and safe to be themselves.

We will do this by:

  1. Organising seminars and workshops concerning different aspects of diversity and inclusion.
  2. Monitoring the workplace environment, as well as the demographics (gender, race, educational, social and economic background etc.) of employees by an anonymous biannual survey.
  3. Recommending policies to the Institute directors.

The committee is open to your suggestions on how we can make the observatory more welcoming for everyone. Please contact us at . Or, if you feel more comfortable, you can contact any of our members:

Academic staff
Marijn Franxfranx@strw.leidenuniv.nl
Jacqueline Hodgehodge@strw.leidenuniv.nl
Matthew Kenworthykenworthy@strw.leidenuniv.nl
Elena Maria Rossiemr@strw.leidenuniv.nl
 
Postdocs
Joe Callinghamjcal@strw.leidenuniv.nl
Sarah Leslieleslie@strw.leidenuniv.nl
Aurora Kesselikesseli@strw.leidenuniv.nl
 
PhD students
Kirsty Butlerbutler@strw.leidenuniv.nl
Morgan McCabemccabe@strw.leidenuniv.nl
Sanjana Panchangula  panchagnula@strw.leidenuniv.nl
Dora Kilndžićklindzicd@strw.leidenuniv.nl
 
Administrative staff
Evelijn Gerstelgerstel@strw.leidenuniv.nl